top of page
  • Writer's picturewhatkatereadnext

Introducing Me!

Updated: Aug 29, 2019


This is officially my first ever blog post *applause* and I just wanted to take some time to say hi, and for you to get to know me a little better!


So, firstly, hello! My name is Kate and I am a 20-year-old English Literature student based in Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK. As you might have guessed, I am a huge bookworm (only the best people are) and, after much time reading blogs, forums, and twitter conversations, I finally want to take a leap into the book community.


The name of my blog is a play on the title of the book What Katy Did Next by 'Susan Coolidge' a.k.a. Sarah Chauncey Woolsey, which was one of the first books I remember reading when I was little, (if only my name was Katy...). Also, can we all just appreciate how hard it is to come up with an original blog name? Impossible! Basically, What Kate Read Next will consist of book reviews, wish-lists, Netflix mutterings, and possibly some general lifestyle chit-chat.


I find it so hard to summarise all the things that I love into one neat box. I would consider myself a very much all-or-nothing kind of person, so when I love something, I love it, and when I don't, you will know about it - passive isn't my style. So, to relieve the pressure from myself, I will pick out just a few things and you can gather the rest from my future blog posts! I love reading in general and don't often say 'no' to trying a book, but I'm a YA lit addict at heart and, being a hopeless romantic, have fallen in love with every soft boy from every YA romance (I'm looking at you, Theodore Finch). I'm a huge (understatement) Gilmore Girls fan and have watched the entire series far too many times to count. I love to do my own creative writing and I'm not half-bad with a paintbrush in my hand. Lastly, a more random fact, I am unhealthily obsessed with pasta, just to warn you if I ever randomly mention it (now I feel hungry...). If any of that sounds remotely interesting to you, then we would be good friends.


I think that is the end of this post! Sorry if I missed anything out, as you can tell, I'm kinda new to this...Thanks for reading this far (if you did). Can't wait to see you on my next post!


Kate x



101 views0 comments
bottom of page